Best Chapter Award

GA-AFS received the Best Chapter Award during the 2016 Southern Division AFS meeting in February 2016. The Chapter was recognized for outreach efforts to GA univerisities, recruiting new membership, and hosting a successful 2015 Southern Division AFS meeting in Savannah, GA. Congratulations to all members!


2015 SDAFS Meeting Chairs

2015 Southern Division AFS Meeting Chairs


GA-AFS Chapter Awards

Nominations are due by the second Friday of January each year to the Awards Chair.

Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes the outstanding contributions of chapter members to Georgia AFS over the course of the year.

Past Award Recipients include Brent Hess (2017), Paula Marcinek (2016), Joey Slaughter (2015), Nicole M. Rankin (2012), Rebecca Brown (2009), Cecil Jennings (2008), David Higginbotham (2007), Tom Reinert (2002), Matt Thomas (2001), Michael Spencer (1999), Bruce Saul (1998), Ronnie Gilbert (1994), and Sue Anthony (1984).

Career Contributions Award

Honors individuals who have made numerous and significant contributions towards the advancement of fisheries research and/or management in Georgia over the course of their career(s).

Past Award Recipients include John Biagi (2017), Ronnie Gilbert (2017), Cecil Jennings (2017), Patti Lanford (2017), Jimmy Evans (2013), Charles West (2012), Wayne Probst (2011), Gary Beisser (2009), Wayne Clark (2008), David Partridge (2008), Mike Van den Avyle (2008), Bubba Mauldin (2007), Les Ager (2007), Mike Geihsler (2006), Mike Alexander (2004), Reggie Weaver (2004), Greg Looney (2003), Carl Hall (2002), Bob Rees (2001), Bob Reinert (2000), and Dan Holder (1999).

Fisheries Worker of the Year

Presented to an individual that has made a significant impact on fisheries research or management in Georgia during the past year.

Past Award Recipients include Bryant Bowen (2017), David Tannehill (2016), Craig Robbins (2014), Chris Looney (2014), Donald Harrison (2013), Chris Harper (2012), Josh Tannehill (2012), Tim Bonvechio (2011), Thom Litts (2009), Adam Kaeser (2009), Travis Ingram (2008), Tommy Marshall (2006), Anthony Rabern (2005), Tim Barrett (2004), Steve Schlieger (2003), Wayne Clark (2002), Dennis Young (2001), Jerry Germann (2000), and Jimmy Evans (1998).

Best Student Paper/Poster

Awarded at the annual meeting to the best student paper or poster presentation(s) as judged by the membership. Consideration is given to any individual presenting research conducted in an academic setting while enrolled as a student in an academic institution. Judges will select the top 3 graduate and top 3 undergraduate student papers for an award during the business meeting of the chapter.

Certificate of Appreciation

Exhibits the Chapter's gratitude to an individual or organization for a specific contribution or event that supports the Chapter or its mission.

2016 Award Recipients include Brent Womack, Kevin Cavallaro, Eric Hogya, Kevin Bleier, Joe Henderson, and W.C. Bradley Co.

Past-President's Award

Recognizes the contributions of the outgoing Chapter President. Presented annual as the Chapter leader moves from President to Past-President.

Last updated: September 7, 2016