The Chapter has created a multi-step process to determine the award winners for the Georgia AFS Fisheries Professionals of the Year and the Georgia AFS Fisheries Conservationist of the Year.

Step One: Nominations for each of the awards are submitted using the online nomination forms a minimum of 4 weeks prior to the Professional Awards Committee needs to confirm award recipients.

Step Two: Awards Committee determines the top three finalists for each of the awards. Finalists are provided with a set of questions to answer. Finalists have at least 10 days to submit their answers.

Step Three: The completed questionnaires provided by the finalists are organized and sent to a panel of judges. Each of the three awards has its own panel of 6 judges. The names of the judges are kept anonymous. The judges do not know who else is on their panel and are asked not to discuss their scores with anyone. Each question is ranked individually. The judges are asked to rank the submitted responses among the candidates as their first choice (1pt), second choice (2pts), and third choice (3pts). Finalists are NOT expected to excel on all questions. (See an example of the judging form below) Judges have at least 10 days to submit their scores.

Step Four: Scores received from the judges are tallied and confirmed by the Professional Awards Committee. The finalist with the lowest score will be selected as the recipient of the award. The other finalists will be recognized at the Awards Banquet as a runner-up and receive a plaque as well.

Sample of Judging Form

Schedule for FPY and FCY Awards

  • December 30, 2022: Nominations due (using online nomination form)
  • January 4, 2023: Top 3 Finalists for each award determined
  • January 5, 2023: Finalists are notified and provided questionnaires
  • January 16, 2023: Finalists’ due date to submit responses
  • January 18, 2023: Judges receive responses from finalists
  • January 30, 2023: Judges submit their evaluation sheets to the coordinator
  • February 3, 2023: Professional Awards Committee confirms award recipients

Procedures for the other awards

The Professional Awards Committee will meet and review nominations and select the recipients for Career Contribution, Unsung Hero, Distinguished Service, and Certificate of Appreciation. Nominators need to follow the GUIDELINES for submitting their nominations. Nominations are due January 20, 2023.