GA-AFS Chapter Awards– Nominations are due by the second Friday of January each year to the Awards Chair, Steven Sammons at

Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes the outstanding contributions of chapter members to Georgia AFS over the course of the year.

Past Award Recipients include Pete Sakaris (2019), Kevin Cavallaro (2019), Tim Bonvechio (2018), Brent Hess (2017), Paula Marcinek (2016), Joey Slaughter (2015), Nicole M. Rankin (2012), Rebecca Brown (2009), Cecil Jennings (2008), David Higginbotham (2007), Tom Reinert (2002), Matt Thomas (2001), Michael Spencer (1999), Bruce Saul (1998), Ronnie Gilbert (1994), and Sue Anthony (1984).

Career Contributions Award

Honors individuals who have made numerous and significant contributions towards the advancement of fisheries research and/or management in Georgia over the course of their career(s).

Past Award Recipients include Jeff Durniak (2019), John Biagi (2017), Ronnie Gilbert (2017), Cecil Jennings (2017), Patti Lanford (2017), Jimmy Evans (2013), Charles West (2012), Wayne Probst (2011), Gary Beisser (2009), Wayne Clark (2008), David Partridge (2008), Mike Van den Avyle (2008), Bubba Mauldin (2007), Les Ager (2007), Mike Geihsler (2006), Mike Alexander (2004), Reggie Weaver (2004), Greg Looney (2003), Carl Hall (2002), Bob Rees (2001), Bob Reinert (2000), and Dan Holder (1999).

Fisheries Professional of the Year

Presented to an individual that has made a significant impact on fisheries research or management in Georgia during the past year.

Past Award Recipients include Danny Edwards (2019), Mark Rigglesford (2018), Bryant Bowen (2017), David Tannehill (2016), Craig Robbins (2014), Chris Looney (2014), Donald Harrison (2013), Chris Harper (2012), Josh Tannehill (2012), Tim Bonvechio (2011), Thom Litts (2009), Adam Kaeser (2009), Travis Ingram (2008), Tommy Marshall (2006), Anthony Rabern (2005), Tim Barrett (2004), Steve Schlieger (2003), Wayne Clark (2002), Dennis Young (2001), Jerry Germann (2000), and Jimmy Evans (1998).

Fisheries Conservationist of the Year

This award is not restricted to Georgia Chapter AFS members.  It is presented annually to an individual or group for their outstanding contributions or service to fisheries conservation in Georgia.

Past Award Recipients: Steven Patrick (2019)

Best Student Paper/Poster

Awarded at the annual meeting to the best student paper or poster presentation(s) as judged by the membership. Consideration is given to any individual presenting research conducted in an academic setting while enrolled as a student in an academic institution. Judges will select the top 3 graduate and top 3 undergraduate student papers for an award during the business meeting of the chapter.

Certificate of Appreciation

Exhibits the Chapter’s gratitude to an individual or organization for a specific contribution or event that supports the Chapter or its mission.

2019 Award Recipients include: Steve Sammons, Marcus Zokan, Alex Pelletier, Zack Brock, Deb Weiler, and Chad Kaiser

President’s Award (formerly Chapter Service Award)

Chosen by the current Chapter President and presented annually to an individual Georgia Chapter AFS member for loyalty, dedication, and meritorious service to the Chapter over a long period of time and for exceptional commitment to the programs, objectives, and long-term goals of the Chapter.

Past Award Recipients: Bill Davin (2019); Rebecca Brown (2018)

Past-President’s Award

Recognizes the contributions of the outgoing Chapter President. Presented annual as the Chapter leader moves from President to Past-President.