Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes the exceptional service and dedication to the Chapter.

Past Award Recipients:  Jim Page (2022), Chalisa Fabillar (2021), Jackson Sibley (2021)Brett Albanese (2020), Pete Sakaris (2019), Kevin Cavallaro (2019), Tim Bonvechio (2018), Brent Hess (2017), Paula Marcinek (2016), Joey Slaughter (2015), Nicole M. Rankin (2012), Rebecca Brown (2009), Cecil Jennings (2008), David Higginbotham (2007), Tom Reinert (2002), Matt Thomas (2001), Michael Spencer (1999), Bruce Saul (1998), Ronnie Gilbert (1994), and Sue Anthony (1984).

Career Contributions Award

Honors individuals who have made numerous and significant contributions towards the advancement of fisheries research and/or management in Georgia over the course of their career(s).

Past Award Recipients:  Bill Davin (2021), Rusty Garrison (2021), Dominic Guadagnoli (2021), Roger Harrell (2021), Pat Markey (2021), Paul Jones (2021), Donna Wilson (2021), Vernon Baldwin (2020), Ed Bettross (2020), Rebecca Brown (2020), Matt Thomas (2020), Spud Woodward (2020), Jeff Durniak (2019), John Biagi (2017), Ronnie Gilbert (2017), Cecil Jennings (2017), Patti Lanford (2017), Jimmy Evans (2013), Charles West (2012), Wayne Probst (2011), Gary Beisser (2009), Wayne Clark (2008), David Partridge (2008), Mike Van den Avyle (2008), Bubba Mauldin (2007), Les Ager (2007), Mike Geihsler (2006), Mike Alexander (2004), Reggie Weaver (2004), Greg Looney (2003), Carl Hall (2002), Bob Rees (2001), Bob Reinert (2000), and Dan Holder (1999).

Fisheries Professional of the Year

As of 2022, the Fisheries Professional of the Year is separated into Professional of the Year in Fisheries Management and Professional of the Year in Fisheries Science and Research.

Professional of the Year in Fisheries Management

This award is open to hatchery managers, fisheries technicians, PFA managers, biologists, and other fisheries professionals who have participated in outstanding or unique management or fish culture activities that contributed significantly to fisheries management and/or conservation.

Award Recipients: Sarah Baker (2022 Winner), John Lee Thomson (2022 Runner-up), Travis Ingram (2022 Runner-up)

Professional of the Year in Fisheries Science and Research

This award is open to biologists, professors, fisheries technicians, and other fisheries professionals whose role is in a research project or program that promotes the conservation and sustainability of fishery resources and aquatic systems.

Award Recipients: Brett Albanese (2022 Winner), Bryan Fluech (2022 Runner-up), Peter Hazelton (2022 Runner-up)

Past Fisheries Professional of the Year Recipients who had made a significant impact on fisheries research or management in Georgia:  Jason Mitchell (2021), Aaron Gray (2020), Leon Brotherton (2020), Danny Edwards (2019), Mark Rigglesford (2018), Bryant Bowen (2017), David Tannehill (2016), Craig Robbins (2014), Chris Looney (2014), Donald Harrison (2013), Chris Harper (2012), Josh Tannehill (2012), Tim Bonvechio (2011), Thom Litts (2009), Adam Kaeser (2009), Travis Ingram (2008), Tommy Marshall (2006), Anthony Rabern (2005), Tim Barrett (2004), Steve Schlieger (2003), Wayne Clark (2002), Dennis Young (2001), Jerry Germann (2000), and Jimmy Evans (1998).

Fisheries Conservationist of the Year

This award is not restricted to Georgia Chapter AFS members.  It is presented annually to an individual or group for their outstanding contributions or service to fisheries conservation in Georgia.

Past Award Recipients:  Oconee River Trout Unlimited Chapter (2022), Jim Page (2021), Marion Baker (2020); Steven Patrick (2019)

Certificate of Appreciation

Exhibits the Chapter’s gratitude to an individual or organization for a specific contribution or event that supports the Chapter or its mission.

2022 Award Recipients:  Emily Owenby, Go Fish Education Center, Brent Hess, Kevin Cavallaro, Zack Brock, Jordan Steele, Dawn Franco, Silk Road Catering

President’s Award (formerly Chapter Service Award)

Chosen by the current Chapter President and presented annually to an individual Georgia Chapter AFS member for loyalty, dedication, and meritorious service to the Chapter over a long period of time and for exceptional commitment to the programs, objectives, and long-term goals of the Chapter.

Past Award Recipients:  Marion Baker (2022), Rebecca Brown (2021), Brent Hess (2020); Bill Davin (2019); Rebecca Brown (2018)

Unsung hero award

This award recognizes the contributions of a person who may not be directly employed as a typical fisheries professional (e.g. biologist, technician, etc.), but provides exceptional work that is essential to the mission of promoting the conservation, development, and wise use utilization of fisheries resources.  This award is designed to celebrate the contributions of people often completing responsibilities “behind the scenes.” 

Past Award Recipients:  Melissa Cummings (2022), Dylan Severens (2021), Cindy Smith (2021), Amy Smith (2021), Carletha Bryant (2020)

Past-President’s Award

Recognizes the contributions of the outgoing Chapter President. Presented annual as the Chapter leader moves from President to Past-President.

Current Recipient:  Robert Bringolf (2022)